top of page
  • Writer's pictureAna De andres

Why I quit social media for 8 months

Updated: Apr 17, 2019

It started like a fun thing to do, then a professional outcome, but it ended up as an obsessive behaviour for many years.

I was 15 years old the first time I made the decision to open a Facebook account; and what happened after that was not great.

I remember the first time so clearly, my account was already set and ready, so I started posting quotes and thoughts, it was good to feel like so many people were listening to me, so then I opened a twitter account, at the beginning there was no harm about it and those months happened fast and fine.

But no wonder, things started going bad when I felt like my privacy was been hacked, so I changed my account and created another gmail for twitter and facebook, I wish that was the last time, but it became so constant that I ended up losing entire days, deleting and creating new accounts all over and over again.


“Do you have any idea what social media is doing to your brain?”

The years kept passing by and I decided to quit social media for good (at the age of 18), I spent a whole year without it, but when my obsession came back I couldnt stop it, so every addictive cicle came back, I can´t even count how many gmail, facebook, twitter accounts I created.

When I turned 20 years old Instagram came to my mind, so I thought I should quit all my accounts and try only instagram.

My journey with Instagram was more than obsessive, I couldn´t sleep, and I kept refreshing the page to see how many likes, comments and followers I had, I changed my status, pictures and even functionality mostly everyday, I posted loads of videos trying to be influencer and failing in the chance to stand out, instead I was only doing what everyone else, I was not making a change, I was destroying my chances.

I started getting so much anxiety and I didnt know how to cope with it, suddenly I understood that the only way to stop a bad habit or an obsession was to completely quit it.


And externing my struggle with social media was something I needed to do in order to move on with my other projects.


 


56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page